Memoranda of Understanding

Multilateral Arrangements and Other Cooperation

Memorandum of Understanding Concerning Consultation, Cooperation and the Exchange of Information of the International Organization of Securities Commissions, October 16, 2003

The IOSCO MOU is the first worldwide multilateral enforcement cooperation arrangement among securities and derivatives regulators. The IOSCO MOU provides for the exchange of essential information to investigate cross-border securities and derivatives violations, including the most serious offenses, such as manipulation, insider trading and customer fraud. The MOU enables regulators to share critical information, including bank, brokerage, and client identification records and to use that information in civil and criminal prosecutions. (For more information, see CFTC News Release 4851-03, October 16, 2003.)

Signatories: Alberta: Alberta Securities Commission; Australia: Australian Securities and Investments Commission; British Columbia: British Columbia Securities Commission; France: Commission des opérations de bourse; Germany: Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin); Greece: Capital Market Commission; Hong Kong: Securities and Futures Commission; Hungary: Hungarian Financial Supervisory Authority; India: Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI); Italy: Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa; Jersey: Jersey Financial Services Commission; Lithuania: Lithuanian Securities Commission; Mexico: Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores; New Zealand:New Zealand Securities Commission; Ontario: Ontario Securities Commission; Poland: Polish Securities and Exchange Commission; Portugal: Comissão do Mercado de Valores Mobiliários; Quebec: Commission des valeurs mobilières du Québec; Spain: Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores; South Africa: Financial Services Board; Turkey: Capital Markets Board; United Kingdom: Financial Services Authority; United States of America: United States Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC); United States of America: United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).