CFTC Organization

The CFTC organization consists of the Commissioners, the offices of the Chairman, and the agency's operating units.

The Commission consists of five Commissioners appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate, to serve staggered five-year terms. The President designates one of the Commissioners to serve as Chairman. No more than three Commissioners at any one time may be from the same political party.


Clearing and Risk (DCR)
The Division of Clearing and Risk (DCR) oversees derivatives clearing organizations (DCOs) and other market participants in the clearing process. These include futures commission merchants, swap dealers, major swap participants, and large traders. DCR monitors the clearing of futures, options on futures, and swaps by DCOs, assesses DCO compliance with Commission regulations, and conducts risk assessment and surveillance. DCR also makes recommendations on DCO applications and eligibility, rule submissions, and which types of swaps should be cleared.

Enforcement (DOE)
The Division of Enforcement investigates and prosecutes alleged violations of the Commodity Exchange Act and Commission regulations. Potential violations include fraud, manipulation and other abuses concerning commodity derivatives and swaps that threaten market integrity, market participants and the general public.

Market Oversight (DMO)
The Division of Market Oversight (DMO) fosters open, transparent, fair, competitive and secure markets through oversight of derivatives platforms and swap data repositories. DMO reviews new applications for designated contract markets, swap execution facilities, swap data repositories and foreign boards of trade and examines existing trading platforms and swap data repositories to ensure their compliance with the applicable core principles and other regulatory requirements, including system safeguards. DMO also evaluates new platform-traded products to ensure that they are not susceptible to manipulation, and reviews entity rules to ensure compliance with the Commodity Exchange Act and Commission regulations. Furthermore, DMO conducts high value-added analysis using internal and external data to inform sound policymaking at the Commission and promote efficient and vibrant markets. DMO also drafts and implements regulations and other regulatory work product to enhance derivatives market structure, and provides guidance to the Commission and registrants regarding these regulations.

Swap Dealer and Intermediary Oversight (DSIO)
The Division of Swap Dealer and Intermediary Oversight (DSIO) primarily oversees derivatives market intermediaries, including commodity pool operators, commodity trading advisors, futures commission merchants, introducing brokers, major swap participants, retail foreign exchange dealers, and swap dealers, as well as designated self-regulatory organizations.


Office of the Chief Economist (OCE)
The Office of the Chief Economist provides economic support and advice to the Commission, conducts research on policy issues facing the Commission, and educates and trains Commission staff. The OCE plays an integral role in the implementation of new financial market regulations by providing economic expertise and cost-benefit considerations underlying those regulations.

Office of Data and Technology (ODT)
The Office of Data and Technology provides technology and data management support for Commission market and financial oversight, surveillance, enforcement, legal support, and public transparency activities. ODT also provides general network, communication, storage, computing, and information management infrastructure and services.

Office of the Executive Director (OED)
The Executive Director ensures the Commission’s adaptation to the ever-changing markets it is charged with regulating, directs the allocation of CFTC resources, develops and implements management and administrative policy, and ensures program performance is measured and tracked Commission-wide. 

Office of the General Counsel (OGC)
The Office of General Counsel provides legal services and support to the Commission and all of its programs. These services include: representing the Commission in appellate, bankruptcy and other litigation; assisting in the performance of adjudicatory functions; providing legal advice and support for Commission programs; drafting and assisting in preparation of Commission regulations; interpreting the CEA; and advising on legislative, regulatory, and operational issues.

Office of the Inspector General (OIG)
The Office of the Inspector General is an independent organizational unit at the CFTC. Its mission is to detect waste, fraud, and abuse and to promote integrity, economy, efficiency, and effectiveness in the CFTC’s programs and operations. As such it has the ability to review all of the Commission’s programs, activities, and records. In accordance with the Inspector General Act of 1978, the OIG issues semiannual reports detailing its activities, findings, and recommendations.

Office of International Affairs (OIA)
The Office of International Affairs advises the Commission regarding international regulatory initiatives; provides guidance regarding international issues raised in Commission matters; represents the Commission in international fora such as the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO), OTC Derivatives Working Group (ODWG), and OTC Derivatives Regulators Group (ODRG); coordinates Commission policy as it relates to policies and initiatives of major foreign jurisdictions, the G20, Financial Stability Board (FSB), and U.S. Treasury Department; negotiates cooperative arrangements and responds to inquires related to supervisory cooperation or information sharing; and provides technical assistance to foreign market authorities, including advice, training, and an annual meeting and symposium.

Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA)
The Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs (OLIA) is the chief advisor to the CFTC Chairman on matters before the U.S. Congress and serves as the Commission’s official liaison with Members of Congress, federal agencies, and the Administration. OLIA provides counsel and professional support to the Chairman and Commission with the goal of building and maintaining relationships with Members of Congress and their staffs and in doing so, furthering the goals and agenda of the Chairman and the Commission.  OLIA develops and executes legislative strategy on behalf of the Chairman and Commission, manages congressional testimony, and works with the various divisions to provide technical assistance on legislation.  In addition, OLIA represents the interests of the CFTC with other federal agencies and the Administration and also serves as a liaison to CFTC stakeholders on a variety of CFTC related matters.

Office of Minority and Women Inclusion (OMWI)
The Office of Minority and Women Inclusion leads the CFTC’s civil rights, equal employment opportunity, diversity, and inclusion programs.

Office of Public Affairs (OPA)
The Office of Public Affairs is the Commission’s primary public-facing office that provides honest, timely and useful information across all communication platforms in order to serve internal and external stakeholders in all sectors to accomplish and facilitate the Commission’s mission. OPA proactively conducts outreach and creates messages designed to raise awareness of the CFTC brand in order to promote public trust.

Whistleblower Office (WBO)
The CFTC’s Whistleblower Program provides monetary incentives to individuals who report possible violations of the Commodity Exchange Act that lead to a successful enforcement action, as well as, privacy, confidentiality, and anti-retaliation protections for whistleblowers who share information with or assist the CFTC.